top of page

Belgium Racing takes the 2023 title in the Porsche Endurance Trophy Benelux

- Last race of the season, at Circuit Zolder, goes to Jan Lauryssen in the colors of Q1 Trackracing

- Jos Menten and Koen Wauters win the title ahead of their teammates Dylan Derdaele and Koen Wauters

Circuit Zolder, October 15, 2023. The final race of the Porsche Endurance Trophy Benelux was a wonderful spectacle in which the weather gods played a leading role. Ultimately, the best tightrope walker was Jan Lauryssen, who braved the weather elements in his Q1 Trackracing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup – Type 992 and achieved a wonderful victory, ahead of the new champions, Jos Menten and Koen Wauters, who competed for the Belgium Racing Team.

The final race of the Belgian endurance championship, Belcar, was a traditional 125-minute race. The Porsche Endurance Trophy Benelux is an integral part of that national championship and this weekend Porsche achieved a fourth victory in five races. After victories in Spa, during the 24 Hours of Zolder and in Oschersleben, the final round of the Belcar Endurance Championship now went to the German manufacturer with three different teams, Q1 Trackracing twice, in addition to Belgium Racing Team and AUGUST by NGT each once.

During the qualifications, entrepreneur Jan Lauryssen was already the fastest in the Porsche Endurance Trophy Benelux and the race victory also went to him, his second solo win of the season.

“What a race,” Lauryssen told us after the 125-minute race. “It was wet at the start, then dried up, until a sudden rain shower flooded everything again and at the end of the race it seemed to get drier again. All seasons in one race, so to speak. Together with the team, I always anticipated quickly and that was the basis for this great victory! I now somewhat regret our bad luck during the 24 Hours of Zolder, which meant that we were not able to play for the title until the end of the season!”

1-2 for Belgium Racing Team

Behind Jan Lauryssen, Koen Wauters and Jos Menten rode to the silver medal and the title, a title they won by the smallest margin ahead of their teammates Dylan Derdaele and Michael Cool, who finished fourth in the final result. “The title is for the team and that is the most important thing for us,” Jan Gabriëls, team manager of Belgium Racing Team, tells the story after the race. “There is little difference between the two teams, which both had a very nice and strong season and for me both deserved the title. We scored a 1-2 and that is the credit of everyone within this great team.”

Third place in the final race of the Porsche Endurance Trophy Benelux went to John De Wilde and Michiel Haverans in the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup – Type 992 – of RedAnt Racing. Michiel Haverans is also assured of third place in the championship, a great result for the young talent.

A very honorable fifth place in the race went to the brothers Mick, Steve and Tom Meurrens in the MM Racing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup – Type 992. The trio drove a flawless race in the second race with the car, in very difficult conditions and ended the season with a very encouraging result. BE Motorsport with Didier and Stephan Beyens finished sixth in the Porsche Cayman GT4.

In the GTB class, we will see the arrival of the Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport in 2024, a car that will undoubtedly be the new standard in the class that largely consists of GT4 cars. More information about the car can be found here:

111 views0 comments


bottom of page